Information and Communications Engineering

Master’s degree program | Department VII

Degree:Master of Engineering (M.Eng.)
Duration:3 semesters
Start:Winter semester
Admission:NC
Teaching language:Englisch
Note:Program as of winter semester 2018/19
ECTS credits:90

Requirements

  • Admission to the Master‘s program Information and Communications Engineering requires a qualified academic degree (e.g. B.Eng., B.Sc., Dipl.-Ing.) in a suitable field of study (e.g. electrical engineering or computer engineering).
  • Moreover, the English language level B2 (CEFR) must be certified to ensure successful class participation.

Further details can be obtained from the Student Counselling and Support Center.

Application Period:

  • For the Winter Semester: April 15th – June 15th
  • For the Summer Semester (depending on availability of places): October 15th – December 15th

Study Content

The Master’s program Information and Communications Engineering comprises three semesters. In the first two semesters, the required modules cover advanced issues, thereby forming a common understanding through core topics of information and communications: signal processing, signal transmission, and network engineering. Furthermore, students acquire additional skills in mathematics and software engineering which are crucial for this subject matter. Parallel colloquia and general studies courses also strengthen the interdisciplinary character of this field.

A variety of required-elective modules are offered to students to deepen their knowledge in selected subjects like radio and mobile communications, communications networks, hardware and software for communications systems, signal processing and multimedia communications, photonic communications systems, and machine learning. If deemed suitable, students may also select a module or two from other Master’s programs.

In addition to the deepening of basic theoretical knowledge, grounded specialist knowledge and the acquisition of methodological-analytical skills, the teaching also focuses on developing competence in systematic, scientific thinking, working methods, and acquiring and classifying scientific findings in actual practice.

In the third semester, a Master's thesis is to be prepared in which students demonstrate that they can work independently on solving, documenting and presenting a complex task in the field of information and communications technology by employing scientific methods within a given time frame. The Master's thesis is completed by passing an oral examination.

The direct application of acquired knowledge in project work in combination with laboratory exercises consolidates this knowledge, strengthens methodological competence and the ability to recognize and solve practical problems in the field of information and communications technology.

The close contacts of the University and its faculty to information and communications technology-related companies, institutes and other organizations enable students in their final thesis to focus on solving practical problems and implementing their solutions in practice.

Research and development takes priority status in the Master’s program Information and Communications Engineering. University professors are actively engaged in a variety of successful research and development projects: exploration of bandwidth-efficient modulation techniques for optical communications, encoding techniques for wireless audio and video coding in local and mobile networks, virtual microphones by ultrasonic evaluation, the security of Internet Protocol IPv6, and implementation and development of algorithms for digital shortwave receivers.

The standard length of study in the Master’s program Information and Communications Engineering is three semesters (1½ years), which includes earning 90 ECTS in order to be conferred the Master’s degree (a total of 300 ECTS in combination with the Bachelor’s degree).

Students who have obtained less than 210 ECTS through their first academic degree are offered additional, suitable modules from Bachelor’s or other Master’s programs at the University to earn the missing credits.

The degree program concludes with the conferment of the academic degree title "Master of Engineering", which entitles the holder to pursue a doctoral degree.

Information and communications technology continues to be a primary driver of technological progress in the digital age. Communications technology satisfies a basic human need in a variety of ways: making cell phone calls and sending messages via GSM, UMTS and LTE, receiving multimedia information via digital radio and television with Internet Radio or DVB-T2, and naturally communicating through the Internet via Wi-Fi and VoIP. Moreover, human-machine interaction introduces new possibilities, car-to-car communication will change the way we travel and data traffic between machines in the industrial sector is growing continually. An end of this development is not in sight.

Information technology, i.e. the technical processing of the data by means of hardware and software, is the backbone for new communication technologies. The continually increasing performance of information technology enables us both to create new applications and to cope with an ever-increasing flood of data.

The tasks and functional areas of engineering are manifold in the field of information and communications technology. Engineers conduct research, design measurement and control systems, and develop hardware and software-based devices in the telecommunications, media, automotive, medical, and aerospace industries. For this highly qualified profession, graduates of this degree program will have acquired in-depth knowledge in diverse fields of technology as well as the ability to view aspects of various complex systems in a networked manner. In addition, especially in this global professional environment, mastery of the English language is essential.

Earning the Master's degree of the Information and Communications Engineering program ensures not only that the aforementioned qualifications have been acquired, but also that its graduates will be offered excellent career opportunities in attractive and innovative fields of activity in Germany and abroad, in development and research departments of companies and scientific institutions.

Curriculum

1. Term
Module Module name SU SWS Ü SWS LP P/WP FB
M01 Advanced Signal Processing Methods 2 1 5 P VII
M02 Advanced Signal Transmission Technologies 2 1 5 P VII
M03 Stochastic Modeling and Optimization 4   5 P VII
M04 Master Colloquium A   1 5 P VII
M05 Required-Elective Module I   4 5 WP VII
M06 Required-Elective Module II   4 5 WP VII
2. Term
Module Module name SU SWS Ü SWS LP P/WP FB
M07 Network Engineering 3   5 P VII
M08 Software Engineering 3 1 5 P VI
M09 Master Colloquium B   1 5 P VII
M10 General Studies I 2   2,5 WP I
M11 General Studies II   2 2,5 WP I
M12 Required-Elective Module III   4 5 WP VII
M13 Required-Elective Module IV   4 5 WP VII
3. Term
Module Module name SU SWS Ü SWS LP P/WP FB  
M14 Final Examination Module 3     30 P VII
M14.1 Master’s Thesis       25 P VII
M14.2 Oral Final Examination       5 P VII
Required-Elective Modules (1./2. Term)
[Translate to English:] Module Module name Term SU SWS Ü SWS LP P/WP FB
WP01 Digital Radio Systems 1/2   4 5 WP VII
WP02 Model-Based Digital Communication Systems Design 1/2   4 5 WP VII
WP03 Network Security and Cryptography 1/2   4 5 WP VII
WP04 Advanced Switching and Routing 1/2   4 5 WP VII
WP05 Photonic Communication Systems 1/2   4 5 WP VII
WP06 Multimedia Broadcast Systems 1/2   4 5 WP VII
WP07 Machine Learning 1/2   4 5 WP VII
WP08 Distributed Systems and Services 1/2   4 5 WP VII
WP09 External Module I 1   4 5 WP Andere Hochschule
WP10 External Module II 1   4 5 WP Andere Hochschule
WP11 External Module III 2   4 5 WP Andere Hochschule
WP12 External Module IV 2   4 5 WP Andere Hochschule

Source: Amtliche Mitteilung, 38. Jahrgang, Nr. 35/2017 vom 02.05.2017

SWS: Hours per week (Semesterwochenstunden), SU: Seminar (Seminaristischer Unterricht), Ü: Practice (Übung), P: Required Module (Pflichtmodul), WP: Required-Elective Module (Wahlpflichtmodul), LP: Credits (Leistungspunkte), FB: Department (zuständiger Fachbereich)

Information and Communications Engineering

Masterstudiengang am Fachbereich VII

NC: nein
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Abschluss: Master of Engineering
Fachsemester: 3
Vorpraktikum: nicht erforderlich
Sonstige Voraussetzungen: Studiengang ab Wintersemester 2018/19
Homepage: https://studiengang.beuth-hochschule.de/mic/

Voraussetzungen

Zulassungsbedingungen

  • Die Aufnahme in den Masterstudiengang Information and Communications Engineering setzt einen qualifizierten akademischen Abschluss (z. B. B.Eng, B.Sc., Dipl.-Ing.) in einer geeigneten Studienrichtung (z. B. Elektrotechnik, Technische Informatik) voraus.
  • Außerdem ist ein Nachweis englischer Sprachkenntnisse B2 (GER) notwendig, um dem Unterricht folgen zu können.

Nähere Einzelheiten können in der Zentralen Studienberatung erfragt werden.

Bewerbung

Bewerbungszeitraum:

  • Bewerbung zum Wintersemester: 15. April bis 15. Juni

Nach Maßgabe freier Plätze kann das Studium auch zum Sommersemester aufgenommen werden.

  • Bewerbung zum Sommersemester: 15. Oktober bis 15. Dezember

Informationen zur Bewerbung für ein Masterstudium

Das Studium

Studieninhalte

Das Masterstudium Information and Communications Engineering umfasst drei Semester. In den ersten beiden Semestern werden Pflichtfächer unterrichtet, die das Verständnis wesentlicher Themenbereiche der IuK-Technik auf fortgeschrittenem Niveau ermöglichen: Signalverarbeitung und -übertragung sowie Netzwerktechnik. Darüber hinaus erwerben die Studierenden zusätzliche mathematische Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen in der Softwareentwicklung, die für das Aufgabenfeld von besonderer Bedeutung sind. Parallel angebotene Kolloquien und Module des Studium generale verstärken den interdisziplinären Charakter des Studiums.

Das Angebot einer Vielzahl von Wahlpflichtmodulen erlaubt den Studierenden die Vertiefung ihres Fachwissens in ausgewählten Themenbereichen wie beispielsweise der Funk- und Mobilkommunikation, den Kommunikationsnetzen, dem Hard- und Softwareentwurf für Kommunikationssysteme, der Signalverarbeitung und Multimediakommunikation, photonischen Kommunikationssystemen und maschinellem Lernen.

Im Vordergrund der Lehre steht neben der Vertiefung von theoretischem Basiswissen, fundiertem Fachwissen und methodisch-analytischen Fähigkeiten auch die Vermittlung der Kompetenz zu systematischen, wissenschaftlichen Denk- und Arbeitsmethoden und der Fähigkeit zur Aneignung und Einordnung von wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen in der beruflichen Praxis.

Im dritten Semester ist eine Masterarbeit anzufertigen, mit der die Studierenden zeigen, dass sie eine komplexe Aufgabenstellung aus dem Bereich der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden in einem vorgegebenen Zeitrahmen selbstständig bearbeiten, lösen, dokumentieren und präsentieren können. Der Masterarbeit folgt eine mündliche Prüfung.

Praxisbezug

Durch die unmittelbare Anwendung des erworbenen Wissens in parallel angebotenen Projektarbeiten und Laborübungen wird dieses verfestigt, die Methodenkompetenz ausgebaut und die Fähigkeit zur Erkennung und Lösung praxisbezogener Problemstellungen auf dem Gebiet der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik gestärkt.

Die vorhandenen guten Kontakte der Hochschule und des Fachbereichs zu Firmen, Instituten und anderen Organisationen aus den für den Studiengang relevanten Bereichen ermöglichen den Studierenden die Orientierung ihrer Abschlussarbeit an praktischen Problemen und die Durchführung in der Praxis.

Forschung und Entwicklung

Forschung und Entwicklung werden im Masterstudiengang Information and Communications Engineering großgeschrieben. Die Hochschullehrer sind hierzu in diversen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten aktiv. Beispiele erfolgreicher Arbeiten reichen von der Erforschung von bandbreiteneffizienten Modulationsverfahren für die optische Nachrichtenübertragung, Codierungsverfahren für drahtlose Audio- und Video-Übertragung in lokalen und Mobilfunknetzen, virtuellen Mikrofonen mittels Ultraschallauswertung, der Sicherheit des Internetprotokolls IPv6 bis zur Implementierung und Entwicklung von Algorithmen für digitale Kurzwellen-Empfänger.

Studiendauer und -abschluss

Die Regelstudienzeit des Master-Studiengangs Information and Communications Engineering beträgt drei Semester (1½ Jahre), wodurch die Studierenden 90 ECTS Leistungspunkte für den Erhalt des Masterabschlusses zu erwerben (insgesamt 300 ECTS Leistungspunkte zusammen mit dem Bachelorabschluss).

Studierenden, die durch ihren ersten Hochschulabschluss weniger als 210 ECTS Leistungspunkte erhalten haben, werden für die fehlenden Leistungspunkte zusätzliche Module aus anderen Bachelor- oder Masterstudiengängen der Beuth Hochschule für Technik angeboten.

Das Studium wird mit dem akademischen Grad „Master of Engineering“ abgeschlossen, der grundsätzlich zur Promotion berechtigt.

Berufliche Perspektiven

Die Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik (IuK) stellt gerade im digitalen Zeitalter nach wie vor einen wesentlichen Motor des technischen Fortschritts dar. Die Kommunikationstechnik befriedigt dabei ein Grundbedürfnis des Menschen auf vielfältige Weise: wir telefonieren mobil miteinander via GSM, UMTS und LTE, wir informieren uns multimedial über Radio und Fernsehen mit DVB-T2 oder Internet-TV, und wir kommunizieren wie selbstverständlich drahtlos über das Internet mittels WLAN und VoIP. Aber auch die Interaktion zwischen Menschen und Maschinen eröffnet neue Möglichkeiten, Car-to-Car-Kommunikation verändert die Art und Weise wie wir uns fortbewegen, das Datenverkehrsaufkommen zwischen Maschinen im industriellen Bereich wächst ständig, und ein Ende dieser Entwicklung ist nicht absehbar.

Die Informationstechnik, d. h. die sichere, technische Verarbeitung der übertragenen Daten mittels Hard- und Software, bildet dabei das Rückgrat für die Kommunikation und ermöglicht durch immer größere Leistungsfähigkeit sowohl neue Anwendungen als auch die Bewältigung dieser immer weiter steigenden Datenflut. Die Aufgaben und Funktionsbereiche von Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieuren der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik sind vielfältig. Sie erforschen, planen und entwickeln Systeme in der IT-, Telekommunikations- und Medienbranche, der Kfz-Technik, der Automatisierungstechnik, der Medizintechnik, der Luft- und Raumfahrtechnik, der Mess- und Regelungstechnik sowie der Hard- und Softwareindustrie.

Für diese hochqualifizierten Berufe erwerben die Studierenden dieses Masterstudiengangs fachlich vertieftes Wissen in verschiedenen Technologiefeldern und die Fähigkeit, auch komplexe Systemaspekte vernetzt zu betrachten. Der englischsprachige Unterricht fördert das Arbeiten in einem internationalen Umfeld, welches Ingenieure und Ingenieurinnen der IuK-Technik typischerweise vorfinden.

Der Masterabschluss des Studiengangs Information and Communications Engineering eröffnet somit seinen Absolventinnen und Absolventen hervorragende Karrierechancen in interessanten und zukunftsträchtigen Tätigkeitsfeldern im In- und Ausland, in Entwicklungs- und Forschungsabteilungen von Firmen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen.

Studienplan

1. Studienplansemester
Modul Modulname SU SWS Ü SWS LP P/WP FB
M01 Fortgeschrittene Methoden der Signalverarbeitung 2 1 5 P VII
M02 Fortgeschrittene Technologien der Signalübertragung 2 1 5 P VII
M03 Stochastische Modellierung und Optimierung 4 5 P VII
M04 Master-Kolloquium A 1 5 P VII
M05 Wahlpflichtmodul I 4 5 WP VII
M06 Wahlpflichtmodul II 4 5 WP VII
2. Studienplansemester
Modul Modulname SU SWS Ü SWS LP P/WP FB
M07 Netzwerktechnik 3 5 P VII
M08 Softwaretechnik 3 1 5 P VI
M09 Master-Kolloquium B 1 5 P VII
M10 Studium Generale I 2 2,5 WP I
M11 Studium Generale II 2 2,5 WP I
M12 Wahlpflichtmodul III 4 5 WP VII
M13 Wahlpflichtmodul IV 4 5 WP VII
3. Studienplansemester
Modul Modulname SU SWS Ü SWS LP P/WP FB
M14 Abschlussprüfung 3 30 P
M14.1 Master-Arbeit 25 P
M14.2 Mündliche Abschlussprüfung 5 P
Wahlpflichtmodule (1./2. Studienplansemester)
Modul Modulname Studienplan-semester SU SWS Ü SWS LP P/WP FB
WP01 Digitale Funksysteme 1/2 4 5 WP VII
WP02 Modellbasierter Entwurf digitaler Kommunikationssysteme 1/2 4 5 WP VII
WP03 Netzwerksicherheit und Kryptografie 1/2 4 5 WP VII
WP04 Fortgeschrittene Methoden des Switching und Routing 1/2 4 5 WP VII
WP05 Photonische Kommunikationssysteme 1/2 4 5 WP VII
WP06 Multimedia-Rundfunksysteme 1/2 4 5 WP VII
WP07 Maschinelles Lernen 1/2 4 5 WP VII
WP08 Verteilte Systeme und Dienste 1/2 4 5 WP VII
WP09 Externes Modul I 1 4 5 WP Andere Hochschule
WP10 Externes Modul II 1 4 5 WP Andere Hochschule
WP11 Externes Modul III 2 4 5 WP Andere Hochschule
WP12 Externes Modul IV 2 4 5 WP Andere Hochschule

Quelle: Amtliche Mitteilung, 38. Jahrgang, Nr. 35/2017 vom 02.05.2017

SWS: Semesterwochenstunden, SU: Seminaristischer Unterricht, Ü: Übung, P: Pflichtmodul, WP: Wahlpflichtmodul, Cr: Credits, LP: Leistungspunkte, FB: für die Durchführung eines Moduls zuständiger Fachbereich

Zentrale Studienberatung

Allgemeine Fragen zum Studium