New name

Berliner Hochschule für Technik

As of 1 October 2021, Beuth University of Applied Sciences will be called Berliner Hochschule für Technik (BHT) (subject to the approval of the Senate Chancellery - Science and Research).

Why is the university renaming itself?

The reason for the renaming is the anti-Semitic statements and actions of the university's namesake, C. P. W. Beuth.

The former "Technische Fachhochschule Berlin" was renamed Beuth University of Applied Sciences in 2009. This was to honour Beuth's contribution to industrial development in Prussia and, above all, his services to the training of technicians. It was only later that historical sources emerged that prove his anti-Semitism.

After a university-wide debate, the members of the Academic Assembly voted in January 2020 to discontinue the name "Beuth". With this step, the university sent a clear and unmistakeable signal: "Active tolerance and diversity in our study programmes, our teaching and research, as well as between students are all part of the everyday life of our university, which is fully committed to enacting the pluralistic principles of a civil society. Racism and anti-Semitism have no place here," says the president of the university, Prof. Dr. Werner Ullmann.

How was the new name chosen?

After the decision to change the name was made, an open naming process took place in which all status groups at the university could participate. University members were invited to submit their own name suggestions. In all 385 suggestions were submitted.

The "New University Name" working group (AG) set up by the Academic Senate (AS) evaluated all the proposals from May 2020 and finally recommended six proposals to the AS for selection. Even before that, the AS members had agreed with the AG's recommendation to refrain from using a personal name (i.e. the name of a person chosen to be the university's patron).

On 28 January 2021, the members of the Academic Assembly then voted on the new name.

What does the name "Berliner Hochschule für Technik" stand for?

With the name “Berliner Hochschule für Technik”, the decision was made to adopt a clear, classic and timeless name, with a clear reference to the city and the university's technical orientation. Buzzwords were consciously avoided.

How will the name change be put into practice?

The change to the new name will take place on 1 October 2021, subject to the approval of the Senate Chancellery - Science and Research. Up until this point, work is continuing on providing Berliner Hochschule für Technik with a new corporate design. The university will continue to use the motto "Study the Future!".

The university's website can already be reached at the www.bht-berlin.de.

The president's statement on the new name of the university

„Today is a very special day for our university because a university does not get a new name every day! That is a rather rare occurrence in the existence of such an institution. But today our university has experienced this situation for the second time.

The Academic Assembly made a decision between initially six name proposals and I absolutely and completely agree that our university will in the future bear the name Berliner Hochschule für Technik - of course subject to the approval of the Board of Trustees and the Senate Chancellery – Science and Research.

It is a name that fits well with our traditional university: Clear and timeless, with an explicit reference to the city and to our primary professional orientation. Subsequently, it will now be a matter of filling the new name with values and with life, shaping the university-wide implementation process and applying it operationally together. I am looking forward to that.

— President Prof. Dr. Werner Ullmann on 28 January 2021 commenting on the decision of the Academic Assembly

Neuer Name

Berliner Hochschule für Technik

Die Beuth Hochschule wird ab 1. Oktober 2021 Berliner Hochschule für Technik (BHT) heißen (vorbehaltlich der Zustimmung der Senatskanzlei – Wissenschaft und Forschung).

Warum benennt sich die Hochschule um?

Grund für die Umbenennung sind antisemitische Äußerungen und Handlungen des Namensgebers der Hochschule, C. P. W. Beuth.

Die damalige „Technische Fachhochschule Berlin“ hatte sich 2009 in Beuth Hochschule für Technik umbenannt. Damit sollten das Beuths Beitrag zur gewerblichen Entwicklung in Preußen und vor allem seine Verdienste um die Ausbildung von Technikern gewürdigt werden. Erst später tauchten historische Quellen auf, die seinen Antisemitismus belegen.

Nach einem hochschulweiten Diskurs stimmten die Mitglieder der Akademischen Versammlung im Januar 2020 für das Ablegen des Namens „Beuth“. Mit diesem Schritt setzte die Hochschule ein aktives und unumgängliches Zeichen: „Gelebte Toleranz und Vielfalt in Studium, Lehre und Forschung und unter den Studierenden gehören zum Alltag unserer Hochschule, die sich uneingeschränkt den pluralistischen Prinzipien einer Zivilgesellschaft verschrieben sieht. Rassismus und Antisemitismus haben hier nichts zu suchen“, so der Präsident der Hochschule Prof. Dr. Werner Ullmann.

Wie wurde der neue Name ausgewählt?

Nach der Entscheidung für die Umbenennung folgte ein offener Namensfindungsprozess, an dem sich alle Statusgruppen der Hochschule beteiligen konnten. Die Mitglieder waren aufgefordert, Namensvorschläge einzureichen. 385 Vorschläge wurden gezählt.

Die vom Akademischen Senat (AS) eingesetzte Arbeitsgruppe (AG) „Neuer Hochschulname" wertete ab Mai 2020 alle Vorschläge aus und empfahl dem AS schließlich sechs Vorschläge zur Auswahl. Bereits zuvor schlossen sich die AS-Mitglieder der Empfehlung der AG an, nicht wieder auf einen Personennamen (also eine/-n Namenspatron/-in) zu setzen.

Am 28. Januar 2021 stimmten die Mitglieder der Akademischen Versammlung dann über den neuen Namen ab.

Wofür steht der Name „Berliner Hochschule für Technik“?

Mit „Berliner Hochschule für Technik“ fiel die Entscheidung auf einen klaren, klassischen und zeitlosen Namen. Er hat einen eindeutigen Bezug zur Stadt und zur fachlichen Ausrichtung der Hochschule. Auf Modewörter wurde bewusst verzichtet.

Wie läuft der Namenswechsel ab?

Der Wechsel zum neuen Namen wird zum 1. Oktober 2021 erfolgen, vorbehaltlich der Zustimmung der Senatskanzlei – Wissenschaft und Forschung.

Bis dahin entsteht ein neues Corporate Design für die Berliner Hochschule für Technik. Das Motto „Studiere Zukunft!“ wird die Hochschule weiterhin führen.

Die Webseite der Hochschule ist bereits unter der URL www.bht-berlin.de erreichbar.


Statement des Präsidenten zum neuen Hochschulnamen

„Es ist heute ein sehr besonderer Tag für unsere Hochschule! Denn eine Hochschule erhält nicht täglich einen neuen Namen. Das ist ein eher seltener Vorgang im Dasein einer solchen Einrichtung. Aber unsere Hochschule hat diese Situation heute gleich zum zweiten Mal erlebt.

Die Akademische Versammlung hat sich zwischen anfänglich sechs Namensvorschlägen entschieden und ich bin sehr, sehr einverstanden, dass unsere Hochschule zukünftig den Namen Berliner Hochschule für Technik tragen wird – selbstverständlich vorbehaltlich der Zustimmung des Kuratoriums und der Senatskanzlei – Wissenschaft und Froschung.

Es ist ein Name, der gut zu unserer Traditionshochschule passt: Klar und zeitlos, mit eindeutigem Bezug zur Stadt und zu unserer vorrangigen fachlichen Ausrichtung. In der Folge wird es jetzt darum gehen, den neuen Namen mit Werten und mit Leben zu füllen, den hochschulweiten Umsetzungsprozess zu gestalten und gemeinsam operativ umzusetzen. Darauf freue ich mich.“

— Präsident Prof. Dr. Werner Ullmann am 28.01.2021 zur Entscheidung der Akademischen Versammlung